Starting October 13, Google Drive files in the trash will automatically delete after 30 days.
Previously, trashed items would be retained indefinitely until the trash was emptied by the user. Now, any files that are put into a Google Drive trash will be automatically deleted after 30 days.
While the automatic trashing feature might be frustrating to some users, there may be actual benefits, since Google counts trashed files that aren’t deleted toward your Drive storage quota.
Administrators for G Suite will also still have the power to restore items that are deleted from the trash for up to 25 days for active users, so if you accidentally lost a critical word document, there’s still a chance to save it.
Google adds a banner notification to Google Drive as well as the specific Google Docs and Google Forms apps, to make sure every user is aware of the feature.